Stile Brillante, post Chopin

Stile Brillante is a term for 19th century virtuosity, which I have redefined in this album, from a single effort to a union of interlaced forces. The Chopin etudes were used as a model, through unbridled emotion and utilization of the entire piano range. Imagine a 21st century Chopin, reacting to contemporary artistic expression, with a freedom from traditional forms, tonalities and meter. The piano keyboard is no longer restricted by two hands, expanding the palette of the piano to any combination of sounds desired.

Valse du petit chien was Chopin’s alternate name for the Minute Waltz. La Giocanda represents the merriment of a young girl, is also an operatic reference, and the alternate name for the Mona Lisa by da Vinci. All other movements are Italian designations, some instructive and others more whimsical, as Chopin tended to do.

The recording concentrates on a clear rendering of piano sound throughout the range of the instrument. Many recordings of Chopin piano music are live from a concert stage, but in keeping with the capabilities of digital recording, I have endeavored to represent a closer, intimate sound, perhaps more in keeping with a French salon performance – a small room of intimate guests, as many of his pieces were first encountered.

All proceeds from this album are being contributed to The Fryderyk Chopin Institute in Warsaw, Poland, in dedication to programs the organization has created for Ukranian children and families.

12 Etudes to Chopin

  1. Animata (2:45)
  2. Serenata (3:37)
  3. Aggressivo (3:44)
  4. Valse du petit chien (1:43)
  5. Sordino-vivace (3:55)
  6. Energia sottile (2:17)
  7. Sognare (3:16)
  8. Allegro marcato (3:38)
  9. Impromptu (2:57)
  10. Appassionata (5:00)
  11. La gioconda (1:08)
  12. Scherzo (2:44)

Utopian Sonata

  1. Con brio (9:54)
  2. Allegretto (4:55)
  3. Grave (7:43)
  4. Finale-presto (6:56)